Testimonials

You can also view our 5* independent reviews on Celebration Charters on Trip Advisor

What Our Clients Say

Thank you to our clients for their kind words

Thank you Robert, Thank you Veronica... Timisoara, Romania, Sept 2017

Even though almost a month has passed since we had the wonderful day trip aboard the yacht Icarus, the memories are still with us. Lovely captain and his first mate Veronica. We were impressed not only by their sailing and hostessing skills but also by their history knowledge of the region, and not only that. As an English teaching academic I enjoyed the Scottish accent and the culturally grounded talks. Our world is an oyster and we hope we’ll meet again. Way to go, sailing Scotsman.

IMG_5319
Simply Lovely! SWestcott, UK, Reviewed Sept 2017

It does what it says on the Tin!
Celebration Charters is just that and if you have a special occasion, or want to treat yourselves, then this is a good place to start.
Robert is a proud Scot and a highly skilled and capable Master Yachtsman. You are in extremely safe hands. The lovely (also Scottish) Veronica is a quiet and reassuring presence and effortlessly produces meals on board with the minimum of fuss.
Did I mention Veronica also mixes a mean G&T?
The 50ft boat Icarus, Robert and Veronica’s floating home for the summer (he owns it), is immaculate, with lovely comfortable beds and plenty of room to sit around in the cockpit. The itinerary around the Greek islands is exquisite, and they have it off to a fine art (do not miss the snorkeling in the caves off Paxos or dinner in Petriti), but do make sure that you tell Robert in advance if you want to spend as much time as possible out on the water. We were unlucky with the wind a couple of times and ended up berthed in port quite early!
If you want to learn sailing from the best, or just sit and read a book whilst others do all the hard work, then you can’t go wrong.
My husband and I had a lovely week with Robert and Veronica and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend them for seeing the best the Ionian has to offer.

fullsizeoutput_1615
Gorgeous Day Aboard Icarus, SandiD, UK, Aug 2017

We went on a Day Charter aboard Icarus in June, Captained by Robert and Veronica as our hostess. The planning and attention to detail are incredible, Robert’s knowledge of Greece is unbelievable. Veronica is, as Joanna Lumley describes her, “as the angel of the sea” which she truly is, the service we received was first class, we sailed to a beautiful bay and had a gorgeous lunch prepared by Veronica. We swam in the sea, through caves and visited the smallest church on the island, also featured in the Durrell’s which I have watched since the start, so it was a great treat. I am scared of the water but Robert was amazing and gave me the courage to have such a great experience in the water, I am no longer scared of the sea thanks to him. We are truly thankful that we were able to have had such a great experience aboard Icarus and I would highly recommend a Day Charter or a holiday aboard the beautiful sailing boat.

Great Family Day Out, JCrichton, Scotland, Aug 2017

Thank you to our Skipper, Robert and Veronica for a wonderful day charter. Fantastic hosts and both very knowledgable. We had a great time exploring the greek coast line and swimming in the clear waters. Stopped at a fabulous restaurant for lunch. Our 15 year son had a ball and enjoyed seeing his mum jump from a small cliff into the sea. Wonderful memories were created. Thank you.

IMG_6396
Amazing Experience, 2nd time round.... M Yates, Warrington, Aug 2017

This was our second day charter with Celebration Charters, both times with a group of 8 friends and family. If you want an yachting experience to impress your family or friends and give you a day out that you will never forget I cannot recommend sailing with Robert and Veronica highly enough.

IMG_6382-3
Great Family Trip, John M, Edinburgh, Aug 2017

A superb cruise with Celebration Charters around Corfu on a stunning yacht. The skipper’s local knowledge with a touch of humour makes for a great experience for the whole family, whether you want to sail or just relax. The trip takes you to all the main holiday spots but adding some undiscovered treasures of their own. Robert and Veronica look after all your needs to give you a relaxing but entertaining trip. This will take some beating, we will definitely return.

IMG_6395
Fantastic Family Holiday, The Wells Family, Bedfordshire, UK, July 2017

Fantastic Family Holiday with new Experiences!
We were looking for a different type of holiday. As a family of four who had never sailed before – this obviously ticked that box. Searching the internet for sailing holidays – we came across Celebration Charters. All of the reviews were amazing and after talking to Robert who answered all our naïve questions and queries with patience, we decided to take the plunge and booked 5 nights aboard Icarus.
We all had high hopes that we would enjoy the holiday but at the same time we were a little nervous that maybe it wouldn’t live up to expectations. Surely all the earlier reviews were too good to be true?! Absolutely not!
From the moment we boarded Icarus, both Robert and Veronica made us feel very welcome and couldn’t do enough for us. They both work very hard to ensure that their guests have the best possible experience on Icarus – from the thought that Robert gives to the daily itinerary that is geared to the guests on board, to the delicious breakfasts and lunches prepared by Veronica (have taken a couple of recipes home – though don’t think they will be as good as yours Veronica!). We saw some beautiful natural scenery and snorkelled in the clearest of turquoise sea (the blue caves were amazing and our favourite!) and visited some lovely bays and villages – too many things to mention – and learned about sailing and the local history along the way. Both Robert and Veronica are extremely experienced and knowledgeable in what they do and we couldn’t have asked for a better Skipper or Hostess. There is something for everyone – we all enjoyed the swimming and snorkelling and waking up in a different place each morning, my husband and 19 year old son loved learning to sail, my 16 year old daughter and I enjoyed relaxing and reading on the bow – and I got to see the Durrells House! We couldn’t have asked for more! If you want a sailing holiday you can book with anyone – if you want a sailing experience book with Celebration Charters. Thank you Robert, Veronica and Icarus – we hope that we will see you all again soon! The Wells Family.

IMG_6397
First Class Day Charter, Sam B, UK, June 2017

We had a private day charter aboard Icarus with Captain Robert & the wonderful hostess Veronica. Robert’s knowledge of the island and the history tours you get along with your trip are second to none, he is obviously very passionate about both the sea & the Islands!

We sailed to a secluded spot, anchored up and had a delicious lunch (Thanks Veronica). After lunch we got to jump from the yacht and swim to an incredible cave, first time I have ever done this & I have to say that without Robert’s friendliness and encouragement I probably would not have went in!

Robert & Veronica’s professional but friendly hospitality made this holiday the best one yet with spectacular memories that I still think and talk about daily. I can’t wait to go back and do it all again!

Fabulous Family Fun for 50th Birthday, Linda, Ayr, Scotland, July 2017

A 50th Birthday treat for my husband. Absolutely perfect. Skipper, Robert, and Veronica, our Hostess, made it a day to remember. Beautiful to see Corfu and Albania from the Ionian Sea. Robert has an encyclopaedic knowledge of the history of the island and lots of top tips to see and do. We had a delicious lunch anchored at Agni and went snorkelling further down the coast. Robert made sure our 12-year-old was well-entertained with lots of instruction steering the yacht. Amazing day! Thank you both. Hopefully we’ll be back for longer some day.

This is my second review for Celebration Charters : AKA Robert and Veronica : AKA Icarus! Brad and Judith, Herts, England - June 2017

This is my second review for Celebration Charters : AKA Robert and Veronica : AKA Icarus!

My wife and I took a week charter in June 2016 and soon decided we wanted to go again, so booked for a week for June 2017.
Although we thought we knew what to expect, and feel Robert and Veronica are friends now, we did have some thoughts it could be repetative as our date neared — How wrong we were!!

The boat Icarus is still as pristine, Robert hasn’t changed his bad taste in music :-), and Veronica still performs miracles in the small galley, but some how they made the holiday totally different and better than last year.

We were asked if we wanted to go anywhere from last year and we selected Gaios on Paxos as our only must, and left the rest to Robert to surprise us.
From Gouvia we headed north to visit the small Church from the Durrels TV series and Robert took us cliff diving…..Well leaping from 3 metres into the sea !!!!
I wont say all the places Robert and Veronica will take you so the surprises are not spoiled!

The whole trip was fantastic, visiting deserted bays, single taverna stops and villages – every day felt like two days as we weaved around the Ionain between Corfu, Albania, Greece mainland and Paxos.

I wont repeat the words of my last review and cant recommend enough ( but maybe I don’t want to recommend in-case I find the next week I want booked!!) but all the good points are the same if not better.

A lovely yacht, a fantastic and fun skipper and an indescribable hard working hostess who caters for your every need!!

Can you make a 3rd time different????? 🙂

A Special Birthday Day Out, Gemma & Rob Wasteney, UK, June 2017

So wanted a special day for my birthday and definitely got it!! Booked a day charter with lunch onboard with Robert and Veronica. With 8 of us onboard still felt so spacious. Had a great guide of the coast line with history behind it. Having been visiting the island for the past 14 years can’t believe I have never seen it from the sea before. Breathtaking views with an amazing lunch and swim in a beautiful spot. Will definitely be doing this again. My husband loved the lesson on sailing and his chance to be captain! Thank you both for such a special day xxx

IMG_0746-2
+ Time of Our Lives! Clare & Gordon MacLeod, UK, May/June 2017

My husband and I are just back from 10 days sailing the Ionian Islands with Robert and Veronica. I honestly can not say enough good things about the whole trip. Robert, the Scottish skipper, owns the boat and his wife, the lovely Veronica works onboard as your private cook and hostess – literally tending to your every need from the moment you wake, until you fall asleep. My husband and I have travelled the world, many many times, and have had a lot of holidays – this one – hands down, beats them all…
The yacht itself, is just beautiful – very spacious and exceptionally clean – you can tell instantly its Roberts pride and joy. Our cabin, with private ensuite shower room, was large,very tastefully decorated, with a very comfortable kingsize bed. Plenty of storage room for our clothes, shoes toiletries etc etc. Veronica has a hairdryer and GHD straighteners in the cabin for guests to use, plus provided us with a very generious amount of towels.
We sailed the north Ionian islands, a water wonderland – and they really do have it all. The beauty of the area can only be described as breathtaking. Crystal clear waters, ranging in colour from the palest blue, to turquoise to deep emerald green. Dolphins swimming and playing alongside the yacht as we sailed. If you’ve never seen these amazing creatures, swimming freely in their own habitat, you will be in for a treat. The people are so friendly and welcoming, great food and wines, endless sunshine, amazing shopping, you name it, its there – and the absolute best way to see the islands, is by private yacht.
Nothing beats a typical day at sea, eating one of Veronicas delicious breakfasts, whilst sunbathing on deck – or reading a book. Dropping anchor off a secluded cove for lunch and wine, prepared meticulously, again by Veronica, then jumping off the boat to swim in the most gorgeous clear water ….and later sailing off to a lovely island for the night for dinner and cocktails.
As for Robert and Veronica themselves, we boarded Icarus as strangers, we left as friends. They are two of the nicest, most generous people you will ever meet. Nothing is too much trouble, they literally wake up every day with the sole purpose of making sure you, the guest have the best day ever – and believe me, you will !

IMG_6384
+ “This was an amazing experience...End of Season Sailing Jolly" Makis F, Corfu, Greece - October 2016

This was an amazing experience, my first opportunity to sail the Ionian Sea for a week starting from Gouvia Marina. I need to say that I run a business in the area and I spend most of my time listening to guests who come to sail during the season and the feedback I get its amazing. So this was my opportunity to see and swim and feel the warmth of the Ionian Sea myself.
I couldn’t have a better host Robert Queen the Scottish Skipper who the last 8 years has found every single hidden and secret spot and makes your journey so unique.
4 lads with different ages, background from different parts of this world and yes I can honestly say I had one of the most amazing times of my life. There was adventure, fun, exploring, tasting, relaxing, great laughs, everything……..
The boat it’s a palace, brand new comfortable with everything you need to make your stay easy (I have to say I was sceptical as it was my first time spending a week in a sailing boat) but there is space, two shower rooms, two toilets, 3 spacious cabins.
Loved the opportunity of cooking in the boat but also eating in tavernas in every little port we visited as well.
Realised how pretty Greece is (being a Greek who work in Summers) I never had the chance to to see how lovely it is to wonder around and stop wherever your heart tells you.
Waking up in a bay where nobody else is or falling asleep the night before just looking at the stars.
I could go on for ever. It’s romantic, it’s adventurous, it’s a couples , boys or a family’s cup of tea, if you haven’t done it yet…. you have to do it.

+ “Wonderful hosts, an unforgettable day sailing!” Andreas-Ionian Weddings

I booked Celebration Charters as a surprise 10th wedding anniversary gift for my wife and my goodness, they didn’t disappoint. We had the most fantastic day sailing the north east Corfu shores and even sniffed Albania! From start to finish, Robert and Veronica looked after us in every way, the food was fantastic, great spots for swimming and snorkelling, they know these shores like the back of their hand. I would highly recommend them as they are professional and knowledgeable, yet extremely friendly and great company. Thank you so much!

Visited September 2016

+ “A memorable family week sailing around Corfu” - Lynne J Chambers

We can’t thank Robert & Veronica enough for the week’s sailing in and around Corfu. We very much appreciated the level of care and thought which went into everything.

From the tailored itinerary to cater for the diverse likes and dislikes of our family – eg our son learning to sail, my husband broadening his sailing experience, to our teenage daughter plus friend’s need for independence & shopping in various island harbours – all the effort to cater for every one of us was appreciated.

The scenery is stunning – my favourite moment was snorkelling with a shoal of fish early one morning and then sitting up at the bow on the last day, whilst under sail… We definitely count this as one of our memorable holidays and would thoroughly recommend it.

Visited August 2016

+ “A truly memorable family sailing week!” Paul S, UK, August 2016

It was a very tough act to follow a week spent in a glorious villa on Corfu…..but we can honestly say that the sailing experience laid on by Robert and Veronica was one of the most fun, scenic and memorable weeks we have enjoyed as a family.

The Icarus is a beautifully-presented yacht, kept meticulously and absolutely spotless on arrival. Robert works hard to ensure the boat is always in tip-top condition and ready for all activities. Meanwhile, Veronica is tireless in keeping guests fed and watered, and the breakfasts and lunches were varied, really delicious and enjoyed by the whole family.

The thought given to the itinerary was very clear from the outset. Robert takes great pleasure in finding secluded, picturesque bays that guests will enjoy as places to stop for swims and meals, and he ensures that some of the most spectacular sights are seen early in the day before the crowds arrive in day tripper boats. He is also open to varying the plan, if guests have particular places they’d like to fit into the schedule. We wanted to stop at Moganissi one night (Carnayo does very good mojitos!) and to be in Gaios (Paxos) for dinner to celebrate our older daughter’s 18th. Both were readily accommodated, and Robert took us on walking and/or swimming tours too – his knowledge of the history of places, as well as their geography, made for an extra appreciation of some of the anchoring places.

We greatly enjoyed getting involved in the sailing, and at all times felt totally confident in Robert and Veronica’s handling of the yacht. Setting anchor in a couple of places emphasised just how much thought – and clearly more than many others – they put into maximising comfort (in terms of boat movement) and minimising risk (of boats colliding in windy or heavy conditions).

For all the comfort, views, activities and food, the week was really made by the wonderfully warm welcome and hospitality that Robert and Veronica extended to us. We had a lot of laughs and fun with them throughout, and as a family were delighted to have been able to spend our daughter’s 18th birthday week with them. We ended the week as friends rather than guests…..

Would genuinely recommend them without hesitation to anyone looking for a crewed yachting experience.

Visited August 2016

+ “25th anniversary day trip” Kevin G, Houston, Texas Sept 2015

We chose to spend our 25th anniversary with Robert and Veronica and it was an amazing day! Everything was beautiful – boat, scenery, food, atmosphere. And they were so entertaining! Love the accents and all of the history of the areas we were sailing by. Stopped for lunch at an amazing place and topped off with Amazing Grace on the bagpipes. Couldn’t have been more wonderful. Highlight of our two weeks in Greece and can’t wait to do it again!!

Visited September 2015