Testimonials

You can also view our 5* independent reviews on Celebration Charters on Trip Advisor

What Our Clients Say

Thank you to our clients for their kind words

The Perfect Wedding Day aboard Icarus - Faye & James, UK - July 2018

Me and my wife recently got married in Corfu and with it just being the two of us we decided to spend the day aboard the Icarus. WOW! what a day it turned out to be. As soon as we arrived we were greeted with champagne in hand and the warmest of welcomes by Robert and Veronica, this instantly set the tone, being made to feel so at ease and relaxed throughout our day. Once aboard, Robert sailed us around the edge of Corfu which allowed us to take in the stunning scenery and receive messages of congratulations from locals and tourists at nearby tavernas which made us feel very special. Whilst enjoying champagne on the bow we were then sailed to a restaurant called Tula’s, which Robert and Veronica had organised for us, this was another level of their service that didn’t go unnoticed and we thoroughly enjoyed their restaurant of recommendation. After our informal Mediterranean wedding breakfast we then enjoyed the rest of our day relaxing and were taken to bays where we could swim and snorkel which was fantastic. This was an experience we will never forget and made our day extra special. Veronica is definitely the hostess with mostess and could not do enough for us, with constant replenishing of drinks and snacks, offering to dry our clothes and towels, as well as the graft she puts in with helping Robert sail. With Robert you have very experienced skipper who makes you feel very safe at all times, even when it got a bit choppy whilst on the bow getting drowned by some big waves, which we loved. His knowledge of the islands is also second to none and very interesting, wether it being a part of history or which celebrity lives where. Robert knows his stuff. Overall we could not recommended Celebration Charters highly enough. This is definitely one of the best ways to celebrate any celebration or just a day out! Thank you Robert and Veronica for all you did for us, we will be returning one day. Best wishes James & Faye Makin x

IMG_5319
Experience of a Lifetime - Margaret C, Edinburgh - June 2018

Had a fantastic holiday in Corfu. The highlight of our holiday was a fantastic day out on Icarus. Skipper Robert and his fantastic hostess Veronica were amazing, Robert has a wealth of knowledge of the island and it was great to see the Durrell house. We had a lovely lunch stop at taverna glyfa where we were collected and taken ashore by speedboat, something I didn’t think I would do at 68 years young. It really was an experience of a lifetime for me and my family. Thanks again Robert and Veronica… loved it.

IMG_5319
50th Birthday Special Day Out - Turner, Scotland - June 2018

My family and I booked this trip for a 50th birthday celebration in June 2018, and had a very special trip around Corfu aboard Icarus with our captain, Robert and hostess, Veronica.
Firstly, the Gouvia Marina was a lovely setting with some fine yachts in the harbour. We were delighted to find that the yacht with the Scotland flag flying high was ours for the day!
Greeting from Robert and Veronica was warm and friendly, and the boat was great too. Exactly what we were hoping for, and comfortably fit 8 adults.
Robert was extremely knowledgeable about the history of the Greek islands, which made the trip more interesting as we sailed out. We sailed round Corfu town, incredibly witnessing 7 huge cruise ships docked. This took nothing away from the historic sights of Corfu, in particular the castle and the church. I was particularly pleased that I was allowed to sail the boat for a good period of time around Corfu with the guidance of Robert, who clearly has a passion for sailing.
We stopped for lunch in a restaurant chosen by Robert and Veronica, and I must say it was exceptional (I had a tomohawk steak to share with one other, thoroughly recommend it). The others had mixtures of great fish, beef and risotto, all of which went down a treat.
Leaving the restaurant, a special departure was planned by our hosts, with the birthday boy and his wife sitting at the back of the boat and Amazing Grace playing as we left. This demonstrates the thought that was put into the trip by Robert and Veronica (who also bought a very tasty birthday cake for us to eat, and a couple of bottles of bubbly to enjoy). I caught most of this on video and it will be shared on the charter Facebook page.
We then stopped for some swimming in the sea, into some caves, to top off an unforgettable experience for a 50th birthday.
It’s worth pointing out that I didn’t have to get myself a beer at any point, Veronica was always a step ahead of me.
We’ve done various charter boat trips in countries around the world, this was up there with the very best.
In summary, a magnificent trip with great hosts which ticked all the boxes and more.

IMG_5319
Birthday Celebration - Derek & Family, Glasgow - June 2018

My family and I had a fantastic day with Robert and Veronica. Robert’s knowledge of the island is incredible and Veronica is a tremendous host. We also stopped off at Toulas Restaurant in Agni for some amazing food and had a dip in the sea afterwards. It really was a birthday to remember and huge thanks to both Robert and Veronica for making it a special one.

IMG_5319
Thank you Robert, Thank you Veronica... Timisoara, Romania, Sept 2017

Even though almost a month has passed since we had the wonderful day trip aboard the yacht Icarus, the memories are still with us. Lovely captain and his first mate Veronica. We were impressed not only by their sailing and hostessing skills but also by their history knowledge of the region, and not only that. As an English teaching academic I enjoyed the Scottish accent and the culturally grounded talks. Our world is an oyster and we hope we’ll meet again. Way to go, sailing Scotsman.

IMG_5319
Simply Lovely! SWestcott, UK, Reviewed Sept 2017

It does what it says on the Tin!
Celebration Charters is just that and if you have a special occasion, or want to treat yourselves, then this is a good place to start.
Robert is a proud Scot and a highly skilled and capable Master Yachtsman. You are in extremely safe hands. The lovely (also Scottish) Veronica is a quiet and reassuring presence and effortlessly produces meals on board with the minimum of fuss.
Did I mention Veronica also mixes a mean G&T?
The 50ft boat Icarus, Robert and Veronica’s floating home for the summer (he owns it), is immaculate, with lovely comfortable beds and plenty of room to sit around in the cockpit. The itinerary around the Greek islands is exquisite, and they have it off to a fine art (do not miss the snorkeling in the caves off Paxos or dinner in Petriti), but do make sure that you tell Robert in advance if you want to spend as much time as possible out on the water. We were unlucky with the wind a couple of times and ended up berthed in port quite early!
If you want to learn sailing from the best, or just sit and read a book whilst others do all the hard work, then you can’t go wrong.
My husband and I had a lovely week with Robert and Veronica and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend them for seeing the best the Ionian has to offer.

fullsizeoutput_1615
Gorgeous Day Aboard Icarus, SandiD, UK, Aug 2017

We went on a Day Charter aboard Icarus in June, Captained by Robert and Veronica as our hostess. The planning and attention to detail are incredible, Robert’s knowledge of Greece is unbelievable. Veronica is, as Joanna Lumley describes her, “as the angel of the sea” which she truly is, the service we received was first class, we sailed to a beautiful bay and had a gorgeous lunch prepared by Veronica. We swam in the sea, through caves and visited the smallest church on the island, also featured in the Durrell’s which I have watched since the start, so it was a great treat. I am scared of the water but Robert was amazing and gave me the courage to have such a great experience in the water, I am no longer scared of the sea thanks to him. We are truly thankful that we were able to have had such a great experience aboard Icarus and I would highly recommend a Day Charter or a holiday aboard the beautiful sailing boat.

Great Family Day Out, JCrichton, Scotland, Aug 2017

Thank you to our Skipper, Robert and Veronica for a wonderful day charter. Fantastic hosts and both very knowledgable. We had a great time exploring the greek coast line and swimming in the clear waters. Stopped at a fabulous restaurant for lunch. Our 15 year son had a ball and enjoyed seeing his mum jump from a small cliff into the sea. Wonderful memories were created. Thank you.

IMG_6396
Amazing Experience, 2nd time round.... M Yates, Warrington, Aug 2017

This was our second day charter with Celebration Charters, both times with a group of 8 friends and family. If you want an yachting experience to impress your family or friends and give you a day out that you will never forget I cannot recommend sailing with Robert and Veronica highly enough.

IMG_6382-3
Great Family Trip, John M, Edinburgh, Aug 2017

A superb cruise with Celebration Charters around Corfu on a stunning yacht. The skipper’s local knowledge with a touch of humour makes for a great experience for the whole family, whether you want to sail or just relax. The trip takes you to all the main holiday spots but adding some undiscovered treasures of their own. Robert and Veronica look after all your needs to give you a relaxing but entertaining trip. This will take some beating, we will definitely return.

IMG_6395
Fantastic Family Holiday, The Wells Family, Bedfordshire, UK, July 2017

Fantastic Family Holiday with new Experiences!
We were looking for a different type of holiday. As a family of four who had never sailed before – this obviously ticked that box. Searching the internet for sailing holidays – we came across Celebration Charters. All of the reviews were amazing and after talking to Robert who answered all our naïve questions and queries with patience, we decided to take the plunge and booked 5 nights aboard Icarus.
We all had high hopes that we would enjoy the holiday but at the same time we were a little nervous that maybe it wouldn’t live up to expectations. Surely all the earlier reviews were too good to be true?! Absolutely not!
From the moment we boarded Icarus, both Robert and Veronica made us feel very welcome and couldn’t do enough for us. They both work very hard to ensure that their guests have the best possible experience on Icarus – from the thought that Robert gives to the daily itinerary that is geared to the guests on board, to the delicious breakfasts and lunches prepared by Veronica (have taken a couple of recipes home – though don’t think they will be as good as yours Veronica!). We saw some beautiful natural scenery and snorkelled in the clearest of turquoise sea (the blue caves were amazing and our favourite!) and visited some lovely bays and villages – too many things to mention – and learned about sailing and the local history along the way. Both Robert and Veronica are extremely experienced and knowledgeable in what they do and we couldn’t have asked for a better Skipper or Hostess. There is something for everyone – we all enjoyed the swimming and snorkelling and waking up in a different place each morning, my husband and 19 year old son loved learning to sail, my 16 year old daughter and I enjoyed relaxing and reading on the bow – and I got to see the Durrells House! We couldn’t have asked for more! If you want a sailing holiday you can book with anyone – if you want a sailing experience book with Celebration Charters. Thank you Robert, Veronica and Icarus – we hope that we will see you all again soon! The Wells Family.

IMG_6397
First Class Day Charter, Sam B, UK, June 2017

We had a private day charter aboard Icarus with Captain Robert & the wonderful hostess Veronica. Robert’s knowledge of the island and the history tours you get along with your trip are second to none, he is obviously very passionate about both the sea & the Islands!

We sailed to a secluded spot, anchored up and had a delicious lunch (Thanks Veronica). After lunch we got to jump from the yacht and swim to an incredible cave, first time I have ever done this & I have to say that without Robert’s friendliness and encouragement I probably would not have went in!

Robert & Veronica’s professional but friendly hospitality made this holiday the best one yet with spectacular memories that I still think and talk about daily. I can’t wait to go back and do it all again!

Fabulous Family Fun for 50th Birthday, Linda, Ayr, Scotland, July 2017

A 50th Birthday treat for my husband. Absolutely perfect. Skipper, Robert, and Veronica, our Hostess, made it a day to remember. Beautiful to see Corfu and Albania from the Ionian Sea. Robert has an encyclopaedic knowledge of the history of the island and lots of top tips to see and do. We had a delicious lunch anchored at Agni and went snorkelling further down the coast. Robert made sure our 12-year-old was well-entertained with lots of instruction steering the yacht. Amazing day! Thank you both. Hopefully we’ll be back for longer some day.

This is my second review for Celebration Charters : AKA Robert and Veronica : AKA Icarus! Brad and Judith, Herts, England - June 2017

This is my second review for Celebration Charters : AKA Robert and Veronica : AKA Icarus!

My wife and I took a week charter in June 2016 and soon decided we wanted to go again, so booked for a week for June 2017.
Although we thought we knew what to expect, and feel Robert and Veronica are friends now, we did have some thoughts it could be repetative as our date neared — How wrong we were!!

The boat Icarus is still as pristine, Robert hasn’t changed his bad taste in music :-), and Veronica still performs miracles in the small galley, but some how they made the holiday totally different and better than last year.

We were asked if we wanted to go anywhere from last year and we selected Gaios on Paxos as our only must, and left the rest to Robert to surprise us.
From Gouvia we headed north to visit the small Church from the Durrels TV series and Robert took us cliff diving…..Well leaping from 3 metres into the sea !!!!
I wont say all the places Robert and Veronica will take you so the surprises are not spoiled!

The whole trip was fantastic, visiting deserted bays, single taverna stops and villages – every day felt like two days as we weaved around the Ionain between Corfu, Albania, Greece mainland and Paxos.

I wont repeat the words of my last review and cant recommend enough ( but maybe I don’t want to recommend in-case I find the next week I want booked!!) but all the good points are the same if not better.

A lovely yacht, a fantastic and fun skipper and an indescribable hard working hostess who caters for your every need!!

Can you make a 3rd time different????? 🙂

A Special Birthday Day Out, Gemma & Rob Wasteney, UK, June 2017

So wanted a special day for my birthday and definitely got it!! Booked a day charter with lunch onboard with Robert and Veronica. With 8 of us onboard still felt so spacious. Had a great guide of the coast line with history behind it. Having been visiting the island for the past 14 years can’t believe I have never seen it from the sea before. Breathtaking views with an amazing lunch and swim in a beautiful spot. Will definitely be doing this again. My husband loved the lesson on sailing and his chance to be captain! Thank you both for such a special day xxx

IMG_0746-2
+ Time of Our Lives! Clare & Gordon MacLeod, UK, May/June 2017

My husband and I are just back from 10 days sailing the Ionian Islands with Robert and Veronica. I honestly can not say enough good things about the whole trip. Robert, the Scottish skipper, owns the boat and his wife, the lovely Veronica works onboard as your private cook and hostess – literally tending to your every need from the moment you wake, until you fall asleep. My husband and I have travelled the world, many many times, and have had a lot of holidays – this one – hands down, beats them all…
The yacht itself, is just beautiful – very spacious and exceptionally clean – you can tell instantly its Roberts pride and joy. Our cabin, with private ensuite shower room, was large,very tastefully decorated, with a very comfortable kingsize bed. Plenty of storage room for our clothes, shoes toiletries etc etc. Veronica has a hairdryer and GHD straighteners in the cabin for guests to use, plus provided us with a very generious amount of towels.
We sailed the north Ionian islands, a water wonderland – and they really do have it all. The beauty of the area can only be described as breathtaking. Crystal clear waters, ranging in colour from the palest blue, to turquoise to deep emerald green. Dolphins swimming and playing alongside the yacht as we sailed. If you’ve never seen these amazing creatures, swimming freely in their own habitat, you will be in for a treat. The people are so friendly and welcoming, great food and wines, endless sunshine, amazing shopping, you name it, its there – and the absolute best way to see the islands, is by private yacht.
Nothing beats a typical day at sea, eating one of Veronicas delicious breakfasts, whilst sunbathing on deck – or reading a book. Dropping anchor off a secluded cove for lunch and wine, prepared meticulously, again by Veronica, then jumping off the boat to swim in the most gorgeous clear water ….and later sailing off to a lovely island for the night for dinner and cocktails.
As for Robert and Veronica themselves, we boarded Icarus as strangers, we left as friends. They are two of the nicest, most generous people you will ever meet. Nothing is too much trouble, they literally wake up every day with the sole purpose of making sure you, the guest have the best day ever – and believe me, you will !

IMG_6384